top of page

Cupid On The Go: The Lowbrow in South Minneapolis


Nestled in the quiet confines of South Minneapolis, The Lowbrow came across my radar a few months ago. I think what really attracted my to this quaint establishment was the word brunch. I absolutely love brunch! If it were a the only meal I could eat for the rest of my life, I would be one satisfied fellow.

I didn’t get a chance to satisfy my heart’s brunch craving, but we did get to experience a great sandwich, while also being to enjoy the ambience of a small neighborhood joint.

Location:

The Lowbrow is located at 4244 Nicollet Avenue. It boost a convenient location for those coming from nearby and also those making a trip. Just hop on 35W and get off on the 46th street exit. Being that its located off Nicollet Avenue getting there wasn’t a huge hassle. Parking was surprisingly not a daunting task either. Upon arrival we found a parking spot around the block within seconds.

Ambiance:

When you first walk into the restaurant, you walk directly into the open dinning area. The size was perfect, big enough to seat about 30-50 people comfortably with additional seating at the bar. My math could be off on the capacity of dinning area.

The way the room was laid out you could see everyone that was in the restaurant, and also hear everyone as well. It you’re looking for a somewhat romantic dinner with your significant other, I would try going after the dinner rush. The Brow was live while we were there.

Whoever the artist is that created the wall murals is one talented fellow. Each wall boosted either a hand painted mural with lots of bright, inviting colors, or it had a wonderful painting. Can someone locate that artist for me? I need some work done on my walls at home!

Service:

Overall, the staff was very friendly. I took about 10 minutes for us to be greeted by our waitress. I usually get impatient by 15, and I’m ready to leave once the 20-minute mark rolls around.

We didn’t see our waitress much after that though. She was like a ninja, gone and then would appear out of nowhere to service our needs. She nonetheless was very friendly and deserved a 20 percent tip.

Food:

Why else would anyone want to visit a restaurant? At last we get to the whole point of all of this, the food.

Lowbrow offers your traditional American Cuisine, with environmentally sustainable ingredients. Shout out to the owner of The Lowbrow, Heather Bray for her commitment to using locally farmed and sustainably grown ingredients!

On the menu were your typical American dishes but also a few items that stuck out, such as the Goat Cheese Fritters or the Tofu Tacos, both are on my radar next time I’m in the area.

I got to try two dishes. First the Fried Egg Sandwich, with hard egg, bacon, mayo, tomato, and spinach on a toasted sourdough bread. Second, I got to try the Chicken Salad Sandwich.

Kudos to the chef on the Fried Egg Sandwich, my biggest fear when eating others people’s eggs, is that they will taste way too eggy. I don’t know about you, but I hate that eggy taste and smell, it makes me want to vomit. By adding mayo, the egg blended in perfectly with the sandwich, never at any point over powering any other element of the sandwich.

I must say I was a little disappointed, by the chicken salad sandwich. The only reason for my disappointment was due to the fact that it was placed on a toasted hamburger bun. I just didn’t taste right, especially with the consistency of the chicken salad. That was my only complaint.

I also enjoyed a raspberry mimosa with my meal. For the record, I am a huge mimosa fan, and the raspberry was an interesting change from the traditional champagne and orange juice mimosa that I’m used to. For all you restaurant owners out there a good mimosa will win my heart over every time!

Overall Grade: 86 out of 100

The experience was a complete one, with only a few and I mean a few hiccups. I would definitely frequent this establishment again. It was a comfortable environment, to enjoy some of the best traditional comfort food and also full meals as well.

J.Cupid

Follow The Lowbrow The Morning Macchiato, J.Cupid on Twitter!

@TheLowbrowMpls

@themorningmacc

@jaycuff13

email: themorningmacchiato@gmail.com

In everything you do, spread love

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page